Getting into the Swing of Things

Friday, February 27, 2009

Every day is walking and walking and more walking. Auckland is so hilly. Wow. But of course, walking around beautiful Auckland does beat snowy Rochester, so I shouldn't complain too much.

Last couple days have been pretty busy...It's kinda hard to remember what you do, so I take a bunch of random pictures. (If the picture quality doesn't seem good it's because I used my camera phone for most of these).

Today....

Slept in a bit because I didn't have to be up til around 10:00 or so, all I really had scheduled for orientation was a session on Asian Studies at 12:30. Rode the bus into town, got some money, went to the session which only lasted about 5 minutes (argh!) then had lunch with Jessica in the quad area. After that we picked up our rugby game tickets (Blues vs. Sharks, March 7) from the Base Travel people. Which, by the way, is the most amazing travel company ever.

http://www.stayatbase.com/base-auckland-central-backpackers/

Anyway, for $15NZ (cut that in half for $US), we get to go to the game, transportation, food and drinks. Sweet deal! Oh also, they paint our faces! But yeah, probably gonna book a few trips with them in the future for Spring Break and when exams are done.

Then we went to the Recycle Boutique, a second-hand store with some cool stuff. I ended up buying a really nice dress, but I still need some heels to go with it.

http://www.recycleboutique.co.nz/index.cfm



Walked a bit around Queens Street and found the Lush store which is a really...interesting place. They have soaps and stuff with...creative names.







Sonic Death Monkey is probably my favorite. Also, it smelled like chocolate.

Then it was time to go home and I decided to go to St. Luke's mall (about a 15-minute walk) and I saw Anneke working at Portman's! Asked about where I might find some black heels but I wasn't really able to find any.

I really have to clean my room. Brochures and maps everywhere.

Ok.

Thursday was a fun day.

Had to get up early for a 9:00 appointment with the research office. Walked around until the 2:00 info session on travel, which basically made me wanna go EVERYWHERE in new zealand! right now looking into what's possible, but spring (fall) break is gonna be pretty sweet.

after that went to international house with krista. fun place! walking around there is a bit maze-like though...

at 7 was pub night, part of the international orientation. it was at globe bar. get it? international...globe bar....haha. clever! it was the first night i'd gone out and it was a lot of fun! walking from international house i ran into fung-fung and a couple of her friends, elena (spelling?) and stephan, two german postgrads.





You can't really tell from the pictures, but about half the people there were dressed in really bright neon outfits. We'd seen them earlier in the day walking around campus and were really confused...Curiosity led me to ask them why they were all wearing all the neon stuff - turns out they were all from O'Rorke hall and doing a bar crawl. Wish I had more pictures of them. Highlights included some guys wearing the Borat bathing suit. Brave fellows..

After that went to Shadowz on campus where a band was playing:



Their music was a bit too much to handle...but it was fun nonetheless. It's funny because time moves so quickly, but I suppose that night it moved slowly. I was back on the bus home before 11:00.

Zzzzz.

It's raining outside! Surprise surprise!

One week!

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

First week has gone by so quickly!

Few more pictures:



Yes, there is indeed a bubble tea place on campus.



Tried taro. They were out of bubbles so I tried it with jelly. I think I prefer bubbles. If I buy 8 bubbble teas I get one free!



Kinda miss watching 24 with my brothers :(

More later, I'm exhausted!

Zzzzzzz.

A few pictures...

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Not in any particular order...captions later I'm lazy.









I'm here! (Copied and pasted)

19/2/08. 21:51.
I’m here! And in bed. Lying down. I’m pooped! But it’s been a fun day
Still gotta get the wireless set up so I’m just writing in a word file right now…I’ll transfer it later.

Anyway…..I’ll start at the beginning.

My first flight was out of Cincinnati around 5:00, on the plane I watched Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 and also Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Unfortunately, I missed about the last 5-10 minutes or so of Nick and Norah’s @_@ The plane landed and thus inflight entertainment was shut off.

Landed in LAX, was confused as to where to go. Ended up having to recheck into Qantas in the next terminal over. When I got to the counter they were like omg you have to run! Don’t stop for anything! Went through security where the people were so kind and funny (a welcome change!). The man liked my shirt (My Good Grief Charlie Brown Shirt) and he asked me about it. He also thanked me for being “congenial” because he said most people coming through were so rude, etc. So after that I basically ran and of course my gate had to be the last one. I didn’t have a seat so they were paging me, and apparently had been paging me for a while. Got my seat. Then, they paged me again with a different seat. There was confusion all around, and they ended up giving me a third seat.

Got on the plan, la dee da, everything was normal. Then I got up to go to the bathroom, and as I was waiting I got really light-headed like I was gonna faint, but I was like, no, please don’t faint. I could feel my hearing going and my hands going numb…

I felt bad for the person that was sitting next to me, I had the aisle seat and I guess she didn’t wanna be rude and ask me to get up, so everytime I got up she did. It kind of worked out for the better. Because as I was waiting for the bathroom and she was standing behind me, she noticed that I looked funny….she sat me down. Which is good because it was probably at about that moment that I would’ve fallen over anyway.

Luckily, this was at the back of the plane so it didn’t cause too much of a commotion. A few flight attendants came over, they asked me if I wanted any oxygen, and I was like, uhhhh, but then they said it would be good so I said sure. They made me lay down in the aisle with an oxygen mask and my legs elevated on a seat. A woman passenger came over and said she was a nurse, her husband had walked by and told her there was a person on the floor and she came over. The flight attendant was telling me to close my eyes if I wanted to, the nurse said it would make me dizzy. They gave me water and orange juice; my hands were still tingly but my head was fine. I felt a bit weakened, but fine overall. I ended up moving to business class and they took my bags up for me. Business class was amazing! I’ve never ridden in a plane up front like that before, only economy class. The lighting was nice…colored, and you could recline the seat to the point where you basically were lying down. The screens were bigger and everything. I had been watching Rachel Getting Married back in my old seat…I’ll have to find out the ending sometime later.

Ok. Then after the plane landed, the flight attendant who first saw me said he’d arrange for a wheelchair, and the nurse told me to get off the plane last to avoid the crowd, cuz it could bring back a fainting feeling. So I waited. Got on a wheelchair. They wheeled me through customs, a lady got my bags. I felt so embarassed! And it was nice to skip the line for customs…but I also felt like I was cheating cuz I should’ve been in line too.

So got past customs, got past baggage claim, found the man with the “IES” sign and there were about 10 other kids there waiting. It was about 7:00 and we were waiting on a few more people so we all went outside because nobody wanted to be in the airport anymore.

Got driven to our residences and had a few hours to rest before being picked up again for some orientation activities.

Gael and others talked to us about the university and being abroad, got a mini-tour, and had a nice dinner. When I got home Bettina was here and we went to St. Luke’s mall to get a few things and pick up Anneke. Her store is really nice! I’m sure I’ll pick up a few things while I’m here.

So tired! In for a long weeked. Two-day IES orientation filled with activities sure to wear us all out. Good thing we’ll have Sunday to recover!

22/2/2009 07:37.

I woke up about 45 minutes ago after sleeping for nearly 13 hours. Goodness!
We got back yesterday after our two-day orientation at the Omaha Marae about 5 something got back, I took a shower, laid down to take a nap which I figured might be a few hours…I woke up sometime thinking it was about 10:00PM or something, then looked at my phone which said 02:19. Needless to say I was thoroughly confused and it took me a few seconds to realize it was indeed 2:19 in the morning. It was a bit frustrating because I thought my sleep schedule would be all messed up, but then instead of getting up and doing something, I stayed in bed and slept a few more hours. Haha my sleeping schedule will soon be regular. Besides, hopefully I can get into a routine where I’m in bed early, up early. I like being up early.

But anyway, the last two days have been great! Got picked up at 8 something, got driven to Wellesley apartments and we all drove off to the Marae. It had been raining for the whole night and didn’t let up for the whole day. After an hour drive (through twisty roads that reminded me of the drive to Baguio, good thing I didn’t get too carsick) we got there, wondering what we were gonna do. On the schedule we had kayaking, scuba diving, and hiking on the list, but those were tossed to the side (temporarily) because of the rain and wind.

The first day was really a step into Maori culture. We all gathered under a sort of shelter as we waited to be welcomed into the Marae. There was sort of a call and reponse, and we followed Bianca as she led us into the Marae. We had to take our shoes off before entering (really important) and proceeded in on the left side. We paid our respects to their ancestors, whose pictures lined the back wall, then sat down as a man (not sure of his title) greeted us. Then we all got in a line and touched foreheads/noses with him and his wife, the significance of the nose being where you took your first breath. The nose and mouth are really important to them for this reason.

We set up the mattresses all in the Marae, all 30 of us plus the people who hosted us for the weekend. It felt like Girl Scouts all over again, or the biggest slumber party I’d ever been to. Then we all took a minute or so and went around the room telling everyone a bit about ourselves. The rest of the day was a combination of eating and learning a Haka. Very cool, also very sacred.

Since the initial plans were held off, they were kind of playing it by ear for the weekend, and since it was still raining the end of the first day, she gave us the option of just chilling in the Marae, going out to a bar with live music, and going to a bar without music. It was basically unanimous to go to the bar with music. We all wanted to get out!

Fortunately the next day was beautiful and we got to go kayaking, fishing, and did flax weaving in rotation with three groups. I was so bad at kayaking but it was fun! It also took me a while to get a grasp on flax weaving, though I eventually got into a rhythm and I’d love to make something else. But overall, the scenery was so beautiful (now that the sun was out and the fog was gone) and we could see for miles.

Z_Z

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

So I just finished a cup of coffee. I just feel like staying up. It happens sometimes.

With the countdown at six days now, I made myself a to-do list of things I need to get done before I leave. The list isn't too bad, mostly just making copies of things, notifying banks and stuff.

I washed some laundry so I can start putting clothes off to the side that I wanna pack. I'm excited for warm weather and beaches. My homestay is near beaches so I'm super excited for that :P I haven't been to a beach in so long!

Hmmm.

This coffee is only half working. Coffee works some times and not others. Instead of keeping me awake and alert, I stay awake but not alert. Then after frustration at being awake but not able to concentrate, I go to bed, only to not be able to fall asleep.

Ahh, I feel tired but all of a sudden my fingers are tingly...

Okay I think I'm gonna start cleaning my room.

Oh yeah. Trying to a find a blog skin, but haven't been successful yet. I'll make it look exciting soon, I promise!

Just under two weeks :O

Thursday, February 5, 2009

So I was on my way upstairs to clean my room when I got sidetracked and thought I might as well write in my blog. But don't worry, I'll be cleaning soon enough.

Yesterday was my first off day after working for six nights straight. Sure, picking up clothes and putting them back doesn't really take a toll on your brain, but it does on your legs and by the end of Tuesday night I was so ready to just sit in the middle of the floor. And I probably could've...there were probably about 5 customers that night because there was another big snowstorm. Just looking out onto the road you could see how backed up the traffic was - even at 8pm people will still trying to get home. Lucky for me I live so close, and in any event could just walk home (though I wouldn't want to - it's so freaking cold). But anyway, yesterday was a pretty good day. Watched "Taken" with BJ which was a pretty good movie (Jason Bourne-ish) after BJ bought a TV from Target. We were gonna watch the 2pm showing but then on the way he wanted me to call some stores to see if they had a TV on sale in stock. The last Target I called said they had one left, so of course I say let's try to get it we can watch a later showing. Lucky enough they had it! And so ended my brother's quest to find a new TV. It's really nice too.

On Sunday I had the pleasant surprise of being called by Jen! She was in the same city as me! Or so she thought...Tricky enough, the Cincinnati/Kentucky airport is actually in Kentucky, Covington to be exact. But it's close enough to Cincinnati. It only takes us 40-45 minutes to get there. So theoretically I could've driven to see her :P

At the moment I'm kind of obsessed with a certain song: Sara Bareilles "Gravity." Check it out if you don't already know it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GMlAvIV2-_A

I'm kind of a harsh critic when it comes to singers. But she is just flawless live. (I have a habit of looking up singers live because I want to know what they've really got). I'd love to see her in concert sometime.

So for this break it was John Mayer's "Where the Light is." Hmmm, come to think of it, I think the same thing has happened twice. Before I watched that DVD with Richie, I didn't really care about John Mayer. All I knew was his stuff on the radio, and other studio recordings. Not really that impressed. But alas! His DVD! Absolutely amazing! "Slow Dancing in a Burning Room" moves me to tears. So as with John Mayer, I only knew Sara Bareilles' radio songs and wasn't that impressed. But then I looked her up live and had the same change of heart (or ear).

I guess that's about it for now. Once I upload some pictures from me and Maggie's snow adventure (including our magic snow hill) I'll post again. :)